Forget-Me-Not Book Review: “Shadow of the Almighty: The Life and Testament of Jim Elliot” by Elisabeth Elliot

shadow-of-the-almighty1“Anything, good as it may be, put before my study of the true and living Word, becomes a snare and I must assiduously avoid such, if the Word is to be my fresh meat every morning.” ~ Jim Elliot

In Philippians 4:8, the apostle Paul exhorts us to discipline our thought-life in this way: “Whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” Elisabeth Elliot’s biography of her husband Jim, who was killed during his missionary work with the Auca Indians of Ecuador, has challenged me in this area of my Christian walk more than any other work I’ve read. Every page confronted me with areas of my own life that require thoughtful and thorough examination.

I cannot commend this book highly enough. It is a beautiful, God-glorifying work that will leave you thinking about the “these things” of which Paul speaks.

One thought on “Forget-Me-Not Book Review: “Shadow of the Almighty: The Life and Testament of Jim Elliot” by Elisabeth Elliot

Leave a Reply

